Skip to Main Content

Citing Sources - US

3. Title of Container

A Container is a work that contains another work, such as:

  • A periodical, like a magazine or newspaper, is the container of the articles published in it
  • A print anthology is the container of the essays, poems, short stories, or articles published in it
  • A website is the container of the posts, comments, and pages published on the site
  • A database is a container for all of the resources published in the database
  • An album is the container of a song
  • A TV or podcast series is the container of individual episodes
  • An art exhibit is the container of the artwork featured

The Container is always italicized, and there can be multiple Containers, especially when you get your resources from a database.

16. Container italicized

 

A web page is the "title"; a website is a container. Italicize the names of containers (e.g., books, periodicals, and databases). 

Friedman, Thomas. “The New Untouchables.” Editorial. New York Times, 29 Oct. 2009, nyti.ms/2mxj9gx.

Central intelligence Agency. “Ecuador.” The World Factbook, United States, 19 Oct. 2017, cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/ec.html.

Seuss, Theodor. The Cat in the Hat. Random House, 1957.

Diamond, Jared. “Norse Greenland’s End.” Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed.”  Viking, 2005, pp. 211-247.

17. Container

 

Container (element 3) - There can be multiple containers. Database names are often included as second  or third containers. When there are multiple containers, add elements 1-9 first, followed by a period, then add elements 3-9 as many times as you need.

For databases, make sure that you use the actual database name. Ebsco and Gale are not database names, they are companies that run several separate databases. The pictures below show where to find the specific database name. These examples show Gale in Context: Biography, from the Gale company, and Advanced Placement Source, from the Ebsco company.  


Kulinski, Kyle. “Are Undocumented Immigrants A 'Burden' On The Healthcare System?” Secular Talk,  24 June 2015. Youtube, www.youtube.com/watch?v=BDnJNKJuDNA.

Nagel, James. "Kate Chopin’s Bayou Folk." Race and Culture in New Orleans Stories : Kate Chopin, Grace King, Alice Dunbar-Nelson, and George Washington Cable. University Alabama Press, 2014, pp. 119-159. Advanced Placement Source, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=shib&db=e000xna&AN=681638&site=eds-live&custid=s9378636.

4. Capitalization

Use title case for authors, article titles, containers, and publishers. Here’s how:

Central Intelligence Agency. “Sierra Leone.” The World Factbook,  United States, 12 Jan. 2017, cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/sl.html.

Diamond, Jared. “Norse Greenland’s End.” Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed, Viking, 2005, pp. 211-247. 

---. “Norse Greenland’s Flowering.” Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed, Viking, 2005, pp. 248-276. 

“The Faces of Malnutrition.” Nutrition, United Nations Children’s Fund, 20 July 2016, unicef.org/nutrition/index_faces-of-malnutrition.html.

30. Domain Name Extension

Omit domain extensions from website names (.org, .com, .edu, etc.)

“Andrew Carnegie.” Biography.com, Arts and Entertainment Networks, 22 Nov. 2016, www.biography.com/people/andrew-carnegie-9238756. 

“Andrew Carnegie.” Biography, Arts and Entertainment Networks, 22 Nov. 2016, www.biography.com/people/andrew-carnegie-9238756. 

“Industrial Revolution.” History.com, Arts and Entertainment Networks, 2009, www.history.com/topics/industrial-revolution. 

“Industrial Revolution.” History, Arts and Entertainment Networks, 2009, www.history.com/topics/industrial-revolution. 

House Committee on Foreign Affairs. “H.J. Res.10 - Authorization of Use of Force Against Iran Resolution.” Congress.gov, United States Congress, 115th Congress,  congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-joint-resolution/10. Accessed 8 Feb. 2017.

House Committee on Foreign Affairs. “H.J. Res.10 - Authorization of Use of Force Against Iran Resolution.” Congress, United States Congress, 115th Congress, congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/house-joint-resolution/10. Accessed 8 Feb. 2017.