More Helpful Tips

1 & 2. Page format - Format

1. Layout

Bibliography/Works Cited List is on its own page following the complete research task (essay, presentation, graphic, etc.).
Include the same header as the rest of your paper
Center Works Cited at the top of the page - do not underline, bold, or italicize
Size 12 font for everything
Times New Roman font
Double-spaced
Do not skip lines between citations
Left margin aligned
Hanging indents
To get a hanging indent in Google Docs, put your cursor in the line/paragraph you want to indent and go to Format > Align & Indent > Indentation options. Under "Special," select "Hanging." Change the indent to .5. Press the blue Apply button to save your changes.
Alphabetized according to first word in citations (after "a", "an", and "the")

2. Alphabetize list according to the first word in your citations after “A” “An” or “The”; Align left; Do not number, categorize or bullet your sources.

When you include more than one article by same author, use ---. to start citations that follow the first entry rather than repeating the name.
Even without the author information, citations are arranged alphabetically according to first word in citation - the title, in this case.

Ziggy_Stardood

Ms. Rothschild

Period 2

Works Cited

Central Intelligence Agency. “Sierra Leone.” The World Factbook, United States, 12 Jan. 2017, cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/sl.html.

Diamond, Jared. “Norse Greenland’s End.” Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed, Viking, 2005, pp. 211-247.

---. “Norse Greenland’s Flowering.” Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed, Viking,

2005, pp. 248-276.

29. Periodicals

Periodicals (newspapers, magazines, journals): It is essential that you include as many of the following as are available

Publication name (must be included!)
Volume
Issue
Date of publication (must be included!)
Location (URL, page, or both if it’s from a database)

Collins, Billy. "Two Poems." Raritan, vol. 31, no. 3, Winter 2012, pp. 47-49. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=prf&AN=88332866&site=prc-lie.

Friedman, Thomas. “The New Untouchables.” Editorial. New York Times, 21 Oct. 2009, nyti.ms/2mxj9gx.

Perrigo, Billy. “This Dinosaur Had a 'Bandit Mask' Like a Raccoon.” Time, 27 Oct. 2017, time.com/5000007/dinosaur-bandit-mask/?xid=homepage.

9. Missing Information

A properly cited source implicitly identifies the resource type (e.g., magazine, journal, newspaper, website, book, e-Book, etc.). This one does not.

To see samples of how citations from several different types of sources should look, visit this page: bit.ly/MLAsamples

Here’s where you can find all the information in a database record. Make sure to click on Detailed Record:

11.Symbols

Avoid using math symbols (+ or |) in citations. This usually happens when citation generators fail to separate elements 2 (Title of Source) and 3 (Container). They get lumped together in quotation marks with the | as a divider. Then the software generates a redundant citation because the website name is repeated.

“Advertisement.” Ten Years Later: The ABA Response to 9/11 | Section of Civil Rights and Social Justice, www.americanbar.org/publications/human_rights_magazine_home/human_rights_vol38_2011/human_rights_winter2011/ten_years_later_the_aba_response_to_9-11.html.

5 & 10. Element Sequence

5. Some elements are in the wrong sequence.

10. Citations include more information than what is called for in MLA 9. Check required 9 elements. Often, when students copy and paste the URL into citation generators to create a citation, or copy and paste from a database/website citation, the generator lumps extra information into the title.

5 & 10. Elements

7. Citation Style

Change into MLA 9. You may have used MLA 7 (Usually happens in EasyBib. Indicators include Web., Print., n.p., n.d.) or APA (Usually happens when the wrong database citation is copied and pasted. Indicators include a date in parentheses, the omission of vol. and no. before the volume and issue numbers)

MLA 7 Bibliography

The Abolition of Slavery or Means for Amending Their Lot." The French Revolution and Human Rights: A Brief Documentary History. Ed. Lynn Hunt. Boston: Bedford of St. Martin's, 1996. 101-02. Print.

Brière, Jean-François. "Abbé Grégoire And Haitian Independence." Research In African Literatures 35.2 (2004): 34. Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson). Web. 6 Nov. 2013.

"From St. Domingo." Hartford Courant, 12 May 1800. Connecticut Courant (1791-1837) ProQuest. Web. 7 Nov. 2013 .

Gregoire, M. "Letter to the Citizens of Color and Free Negroes of Saint-Domingue by Haiti 1791." Letter. 8 June 1791. Translation by Mitch Abidor. Lettre Aux Citoyens De Couleur Et Nègres Libres De Saint-Domingue Et Des Autres Isles Francoises De L’Amerique. Paris: Imprimerie Du Patriote Français, 1791. N. pag. Marxist.org. Marxist Internet Archive (MIA), 2006. Web. 06 Nov. 2013.

Taylor, Karen J. "Empire, French." Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450. Ed. Thomas Benjamin. Vol. 1. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2007. 390-94. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 30 Oct. 2013.

7. MLA 7 to MLA 8

APA Bibliography (Called References in APA)

Brady, M. T. (2011). Invisibility and insubstantiality in an anorexic adolescent: phenomenology and dynamics. Journal of Child Psychotherapy, 37(1), 3-15. http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/0075417X.2011.550414

By Senator, Edward W. "The Mylai Case: A Test for U.S." The Washington Post, Times Herald (1959-1973), Washington, D.C., 1969.

Equal Opportunity Act, Pub. L. No. 88-38, § 206, 29 Stat. (June 10, 1963). Retrieved from https://www.eeoc.gov/laws/statutes/epa.cfm

Wage and Hour Division. Department of Labor. "Family and Medical Leave Act." United States Department of Labor, United States, www.dol.gov/whd/fmla/. Accessed 10 Jan. 2017.

Willbanks, James H. "Vietnam War." World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society, ABC-CLIO,2016. Accessed 13 Sept. 2016.

7. APA to MLA 8

8. Punctuation

Problems with punctuation or spacing between the elements. This may mean that a period(s) at the end of the citation or before starting the second container was/were left out. Make sure to always end each citation with a period, no matter what the final element is.

“Burkina Faso.” Country Profiles, British Broadcasting Company, 14 Aug. 2017, www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-13072774.

Development Research Group. “Poverty Headcount Ratio at $1.90 a Day (% of population) 1981-2013.” World Bank, 2017, data.worldbank.org/indicator/SI.POV.DDAY?end=2013&locations=1W&start=1981&view=chart.

“Five Laws of Media and Information Literacy.” Communication and Information, United Nations Educational Scientific, and Cultural Organization, 2017, unesco.org/new/en/communication-and-information/media-development/media-literacy/five-laws-of-mil.