Citing Sources - US

24. Location (URLs)

Location (element 9) - Web sources: Any source you access online needs to have a URL in the citation. Use the entire URL. Remove hyperlinks, delete http:// and omit “greater than” and “less than” symbols < >. 

Use permalinks wherever possible (e.g., New York Times and databases). Scroll down past the example or click here to learn how to find permalinks in databases:

“Burkina Faso.”  Country Profiles, British Broadcasting Corporation, 14 Aug. 2017, www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-13072774. 

Development Research Group. “Poverty Headcount Ratio at $1.90 a Day (% of population) 1981-2013.” World Bank, 2017, data.worldbank.org/indicator/SI.POV.DDAY?end=2013&locations=1W&start=1981&view=chart.

“Five Laws of Media and Information Literacy.” Communication and Information, United Nations Educational Scientific, and Cultural Organization, 2017, unesco.org/new/en/communication-and-information/media-development/media-literacy/five-laws-of-mil.

“Universal Declaration of Human Rights.” United Nations, www.un.org/en/universal-declaration-human-rights/index.html. Accessed 26 Oct. 2017.

25. Location (Page Numbers)

Location (element 9) - Print sources: Include page number or range. Abbreviate the word page (singular) as p. and pages (plural) as pp. Use lower case letters for abbreviations. 

If using a stand-alone source, like a print or ebook with one author, you do not need to include page numbers in your works cited page. If a book is online or from a database, you do need to include a location/URL and possibly a second container from a database.

Chua, Amy.  “Tolerance in Rome’s High Empire.”  Day of Empire. E-Book, Knopf  Doubleday,  2009, pp. 29-58.

Collins, Billy. "Two Poems." Raritan, vol. 31, no. 3, Winter 2012, pp. 47-49. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=prf&AN=88332866&site=prc-lie.

Diamond, Jared. “Norse Greenland’s End.” Collapse: How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed, Viking, 2005, pp. 211-247.

McKinley, Jesse . “Fear vs. Hope: Day of Reckoning Nears on New York Constitution.” New York Times, 27 Oct. 2017, p. A1.

12. D.O.I.

Omit D.O.I. The publisher assigns a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) when your article is published and made available electronically. It is used as a substitute for the URL. You may use this in college, but it is to be replaced by a URL at Webb. If the source is from a database, make sure to use the permalink.

Permalinks

Permalinks are permanent links that will lead you back to that resource. You CANNOT just use the links that are in the URL bar on your browser. 

To find the permalink in a Gale database, look for the Get Link button and then copy the given URL:

Save to Google Drive

You can also save items to your Google Drive. 

In a Gale database, click on Send To, then Save to Google Drive. Log in with your Google account. The items will then be saved in your Google Drive in a folder named for that database.

Permalinks

Britannica is the ONLY database where you can save the URL from the bar in your browser.

Permalinks

Click on the Settings Gear Icon > Citations. Copy and paste the link from any of the citations.

Permalinks

In Historical Newspapers and Access World News, you find the link button in the menu at the top of the article to copy and paste the permalink.

JSTOR

In JSTOR, look for the Stable URL under the information for the journal.

Classroom Video on Demand

In Classroom Video on Demand, click the Share button under the video, and then find the record or segment link.

ABC-Clio

In all ABC-Clio databases, look for the Get Link Button at the top right of the page.